EurEau Elects New President

The European Federation of National Associations of Water Services elects a new president, committee chairs and Executive Committee, to oversee the continued protection of Europe’s water consumers and the environment
EurEau Elects New President

Pär Dalhielm (Image source: EurEau)

Pär Dalhielm is the new EurEau President, leading Europe’s water services with the ambition to strengthen our voice in the coming political debates and policymaking.
Pär was elected by his peers at the General Assembly meeting in Prague on Friday 26 May. He is the CEO of Svenskt Vatten, the Swedish national organisation for drinking water and wastewater services.

“The water sector is a relevant, competent and determined partner for when the EU and member states are defining and striving for a greener and greater future” outlined Dalhielm.
“The EU’s Green Deal is a window of opportunity to protect our water resources and tackle pollution at source. It also puts pressure on the water sector to contribute to a more holistic approach to protecting our environment. We are a proactive and ambitious partner in meeting new challenges, such as reducing greenhouse gas emissions to zero by 2050 at the latest and using our full circular economy potential” he continued.

EurEau also elected new Committee Chairs and an executive board.

The full result of the EurEau elections are:

  • Pär Dalhielm (Svenskt Vatten, Sweden): President
  • Gesche Grützmacher (DVGW, Germany) and Riina Liikanen (FIWA, Finland): co-Chairs of the EurEau Committee on Drinking Water
  • John Casey (Uisce Eireann, Ireland) and Paula Lindell (FIWA, Finland): co-Chairs of the EurEau Committee on Waste Water
  • Denis Bonvillain (FP2E, France) and Brian Murphy (Uisce Eireann, Ireland): co-Chairs of the EurEau Committee on Economics and Legal Affairs.

The full Executive Committee will be composed of Mariano Blanco Orozco (AEAS, Spain), Claudia Castell-Exner (DVGW, Germany), Karl Cilia (Water Services Corporation, Malta), Stuart Colville (Water UK), Sandis Dejus (Latvian Water and Wastewater Works Association), Luigi del Giacco (Utilitalia, Italy) and Klara Ramm, (IGWP, Poland). Alain Gillis (Belgaqua, Belgium) remains as treasurer.
All parties take up their new positions from 01 July 2023.

Source: EurEau

More articles on this topic

VDMA Is Campaigning for a Harmonized Drinking Water Regulation throughout Europe

28.05.2024 -

“Clean drinking water is a human right. And it is one of the most important future issues of our time,” says Dr. Laura Dorfer, Managing Director of the VDMA Valves Association. By using materials that are suitable and approved for drinking water hygiene and water-efficient technologies, the fittings industry is making a significant contribution to the responsible use of this important resource and to ensuring clean drinking water.

Read more

Lutz-Jesco Electrolysis System Produces Sodium Hypochlorite from Commercially-Available Salt

17.05.2024 -

Although chlorine is an integral part of industrial disinfection processes, handling the chemical is dangerous. In the worst-case scenario, incorrect dosing or direct contact with chlorine can cause damage to the lungs, eyes and skin. The solution from Lutz-Jesco: MINICHLORGEN, an electrolysis system that manufactures sodium hypochlorite from harmless salt tablets and makes it available for disinfection processes.

Read more

Water and Climate Change: Innovation for Resilience

19.02.2024 -

Mark your calendars for the upcoming 13th edition of the ASIAWATER 2024 Expo & Forum! The highly anticipated event is scheduled to take place from 23 – 25 April 2024 at the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre (KLCC), Malaysia. ASIAWATER 2024 is strategically positioned as the most comprehensive international platform exclusively dedicated to addressing water and wastewater solutions for developing Asia.

Read more