The Online Pump Magazine


Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2016 Opens For Nominations

Singapore International Water Week (SIWW), the global platform to share and co-create innovative water solutions, officially opened its call for nominations for the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2016.

One of the key highlights of SIWW, the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize honours outstanding contributions by individuals or organisations towards solving the world s water challenges by applying innovative technologies, policies or programmes which benefit humanity. This prestigious international award is named after Singapore s first Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, whose foresight and leadership has enabled Singapore to attain a sustainable water supply.´

Since its inception in 2008, the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize has gained a standing in the global water arena as the premier Water Prize amongst its peers, by focusing on innovative water technologies, policies or programmes that have been game-changers in their real-world application. The honour roll for the Water Prize includes laureates with ground-breaking solutions in membrane technology, used water treatment, as well as holistic water policies and management that have benefitted the lives of millions. Their achievements represent the pinnacle in sustainable water solutions that have made a difference to cities and people around the world.

The Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2016 laureate will receive S$300,000, a certificate, and a gold medallion at the award ceremony to be held during SIWW 2016.

Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2014 laureate
The Orange County Water District (OCWD) was awarded the Water Prize in 2014 for its pioneering work in groundwater management and water reclamation using advanced water reuse technologies, and achievements in public policy and community outreach that have advanced public acceptance on water reuse.

OCWD was formed in 1933 as a California Special District to manage the large groundwater basin that underlies both north and central Orange County. The groundwater basin provides approximately 70 percent of the water for 2.4 million people in 19 municipal water agencies and special districts.

Other past laureates include Dr. Andrew Benedek, Prof. Gatze Lettinga, the Yellow River Conservancy Commission, Dr. James Barnard, and Prof. Mark van Loosdrecht.

Call for Nominations
Qualified parties, such as leaders of international water companies and water utilities, top academics in water research, policy and management, heads of international organisations, members of government, or distinguished individuals in the field of water are welcome to submit nominations for the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2016. This can be done online by uploading a citation of the nominee s achievements. Shortlisted nominees will be notified to submit supporting documents for more detailed evaluations by the Nominating Committee (NC).

All shortlisted nominations will undergo two rounds of rigorous selection. The Nominating Committee will thoroughly evaluate all shortlisted nominations and make their recommendations to the Water Prize Council, which will then decide on the prize winner.

Nominations close on 1 Jun 2015.

The Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2016 Call for Nominations is the first in a series of events that will be held in 2015, in the lead up to SIWW 2016. Other key activities coming up include the Water Convention 2016 Call for Papers and the inaugural SIWW Technology and Innovation Summit (STIS), which will be held on 16 to 17 June 2015. The Summit is an exclusive by-invitation event that will bring together global thought leaders and key influencers, to develop a blueprint for municipal and industrial water solutions. The discussion outcomes from STIS will be showcased at SIWW 2016.

Source: Singapore International Water Week


News about the topic WATER

News about the topic WATER SUPPLY